gcsescience.com                                       5                                       gcsescience.com

The Solar System

The Planets.

What are the Planets of the Solar System?

The eight planets in order are  MercuryVenusEarth,  Mars,
JupiterSaturnUranus  and  Neptune.
Mercury is closest to the Sun and Neptune is furthest away.

You can remember the order of the planets by learning
"My Very Elegant Mother Just Showed Unparalleled Nerve".
The first letter of each word is the first letter of the planet.
Try making up your own sentence.

Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars are called the inner planets.
The inner planets are made from rock with an iron or nickel core.
After Mars there is a belt of asteroids, then
Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are called the outer planets.
The outer planets are mainly made from
hydrogen and helium. They may have an icy or rocky core.

There is a table that gives a summary of information
for the planets, or just click on the
name of a planet above for individual information.

back    Links    Planets    The Solar System    Revision Questions    next

gcsescience.com      Physics Quiz      Index      Solar System Quiz      gcsescience.com

Home      GCSE Chemistry      GCSE Physics

Copyright © 2015 gcsescience.com. All Rights Reserved.